G7 and G20 Research Groups

G7 Information Centre
G20 Information Centre

University of Toronto

Now Is the Time for the G7 to Leverage Its Influence

Michaëlle Jean, secretary general, International Organization of La Francophonie

Special supplement to G7 Canada: The 2018 Charlevoix Summit,
John Kirton and Madeline Koch, eds., GT Media, 2018
Version français

Michaëlle Jean, secretary general, International Organization of La FrancophonieThe Charlevoix G7 Summit, under the Canadian presidency, takes place at a very special moment in international life. Indeed, in recent years, the effectiveness of the multilateral system has been seriously questioned by some states, and in public opinion some scepticism has arisen about collective action and regional integration. The loss of confidence is obvious. Consider the divisions inside the United Nations Security Council and how much they hamper the resolution of many international crises. Consider also the decline of European integration as a result of Brexit. Consider, too, the growing risks of trade wars between the major world economic powers, resulting in the marginalization of the World Trade Organization.

Despite its informal nature, the G7 can leverage its strategic influence to mobilise international institutions around widely shared priorities and ensure that effective and inclusive responses are reached and implemented.

The International Organization of La Francophonie (OIF), which brings together 84 states and governments on five continents, welcomes the relevance of the themes selected by Canada for this G7, because they correspond very largely to the actions that the OIF is currently implementing within the francophone world. The emphasis on the empowerment of women and girls, for instance, is also at the heart of our organization's programming: it is a cross-cutting priority in all the actions we undertake, especially in the economic sphere. The OIF is strongly committed to increasing women's participation in the labour market and promoting the undeniable contribution that women make to the economic growth of their countries. For this purpose, in sub-Saharan Africa, the Caribbean and the Indian Ocean the OIF is deploying and supporting incubator-type structures, accelerators and collaborative spaces that gather and support, in a structured way, thousands of start-ups and small and medium-sized enterprises. These economic initiatives are intended to boost productivity and generate innovative activities that will strengthen value chains. These projects are mainly carried out by women and young entrepreneurs, who are key vital forces for any country, and constitute strategic human capital in which to invest for growth and prosperity.

Such capacity building includes also institutions, with regard to implementing national legislations to improve business environment, or revitalising and consolidating economic ecosystems. As such, the OIF has formed a network of finance ministers from its lower-income countries, and supports them in their discussions with international financial institutions, including the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank.

All these actions truly contribute to ensuring that inclusive, responsible and shared economic growth benefits everyone, which is another priority of the G7 Charlevoix Summit.

The achievement of the 2030 Agenda will require considerable funding for developing countries. While the involvement of the private sector, alongside official development assistance, is of increasing interest, especially for infrastructure financing, developing countries need monitoring tools to keep control of these projects, avoid unbalanced public-private partnerships and not fall back into new cycles of debt. The G7 should call on the international financial institutions to strengthen their technical assistance to developing countries on these issues.

As for the future of work, this is a critical issue, also on the G7 agenda, and a matter of concern for all countries, advanced as well as developing. The current technological revolution, driven by artificial intelligence, blockchain and cryptocurrencies, will transform the definition of work worldwide, so millions of jobs will be affected in the very short term. Although the G7 encourages research and innovation among its members on these issues, it also has a responsibility towards developing countries, which may be excluded from the future world economy by these technological disruptions. The OIF is already working on these issues, which have major economic repercussions and also have cultural and political impacts. The key global leaders fuelling this tech revolution are large international companies based mostly elsewhere than in francophone countries. So La Francophonie members need to assemble their strengths, achievements, capacities and expertise in this area more vigorously. The G7 should mobilise international financial institutions to assess the impact of this new digital revolution in developing countries in terms of jobs and modes of production. In addition, the issue of global regulation for these activities should be on the agenda of the G7 as well as other international forums in the coming years.

The issue of climate change, oceans and clean energy is another major area of concern. La Francophonie expects the G7 to maintain the momentum of the 2015 Paris Agreement, especially with respect to financing adaptation to the devastating effects of global warming in the poorest countries. Our organisation is very involved on these issues, through the Quebec-based La Francophonie Institute for Sustainable Development, which supports our states and governments in international negotiations as well as in developing and implementing their national sustainable development plans. Recent meetings on the United Nations Convention on Climate Change have shown that the sense of urgency that led to the conclusion of the Paris Agreement is already fading. The Francophonie counts on the Canadian G7 presidency, as well as on France, to maintain and strengthen international cohesion on this subject, despite the position of the current United States administration.

With regard to peace and security, the francophone world is unfortunately not spared, neither from regional crises nor from the asymmetrical threats of transnational organised crime and terrorist attacks. The OIF is very mobilised to support its members affected in their fight against radicalisation and violent extremism, a problem that involves both cultural and economic dimensions, beyond the security aspect. La Francophonie is also an important partner of the United Nations in training personnel and contingents deployed in peacekeeping operations in French-speaking countries. We hope that the G7 will raise new resources to address these challenges, and we welcome the emphasis on the role of women in conflict prevention and resolution.

I wish a full success for the Charlevoix Summit and its ambitious agenda. The Canadian presidency and the future French presidency know that they can count on the commitment, the strong contribution, the dynamism and the added value of the Francophonie so that at the heart of globalisation, this universal and integral humanism that defines us can triumph.

[back to top]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the Global Governance Program based at Trinity College
in the University of Toronto.
   
Please send comments to:
g7@utoronto.ca
g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 29, 2018 .

All contents copyright © 2021. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 and G20 Research Groups

G7 Information Centre
G20 Information Centre

University of Toronto

C'est le moment pour le G7 de mettre dans la balance le poids de sa grande responsabilité

Michaëlle Jean, sécretaire gérérale de l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie

Supplément spécial au G7 Canada: The 2018 Charlevoix Summit,
John Kirton et Madeline Koch (dir.), GT Media, 2018
English Version

Michaëlle Jean, sécretaire gérérale de l'Organisation internationale de la FrancophonieLe Sommet du G7 de Charlevoix, sous présidence canadienne, se tient à un moment très particulier dans la vie internationale. En effet, ces dernières années, l'efficacité du système multilatéral a été sérieusement remise en cause par certains états, et dans les opinions publiques, on aura noté un certain scepticisme quant aux vertus de l'action collective et de l'intégration régionale. La perte de confiance est manifeste. Voyez ne serait-ce que les fractures au sein du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies et combien elles pèsent sur la résolution de nombreuses crises internationales. Voyez le recul également de l'intégration européenne avec le Brexit. Voyez les risques croissants de guerre commerciale entre les grands espaces économiques mondiaux, et par conséquent, la marginalisation de l'Organisation mondiale du Commerce.

Malgré sa nature informelle, le G7 peut mettre dans la balance le poids de sa grande responsabilité, mobiliser les institutions internationales autour de priorités largement partagées et s'assurer que des réponses efficaces et inclusives soient apportées.

L'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), qui rassemble 84 états et gouvernements sur les cinq continents, salue la pertinence des thèmes retenus par le Canada pour ce G7, car ils correspondent très largement aux actions que l'OIF met en œuvre au sein de l'espace francophone. L'importance accordée à l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles, par exemple, est au cœur de la programmation de notre organisation, qui en a fait une priorité transversale qui s'impose dans toutes les actions que nous entreprenons et en particulier dans le domaine économique. L'OIF s'engage fortement pour augmenter la participation des femmes au marché de l'emploi et mettre de l'avant leur apport indéniable à la croissance économique de leur pays, en déployant et en soutenant, notamment en Afrique subsaharienne et dans l'océan indien, des structures de type incubateurs, accélérateurs, espaces collaboratifs qui rassemblent et accompagnent, de manière structurante, ces milliers de très petites, petites et moyennes entreprises et industries pour un passage à l'échelle. Ces initiatives économiques qui sont autant de moteurs de productivité, qui génèrent des activités souvent très innovantes et impulsent des chaînes de valeurs, sont en très grand nombre portées par des femmes et des jeunes entrepreneurs, des forces vives dont on ne peut se passer et un capital humain dans lequel il faut investir pour un regain de prospérité. C'est pourquoi l'OIF accompagne le renforcement des capacités et des compétences, celui des institutions également, comme la mise en œuvre de législations nationales pour l'amélioration de l'environnement des affaires, la revitalisation et la consolidation des écosystèmes économiques. À ce titre, l'OIF a même constitué un réseau des ministres des finances de ses pays à plus faible revenu, unis et soutenus désormais dans leurs discussions avec les institutions financières internationales, notamment le Fond mondial international et la Banque mondiale.

Toutes ces actions contribuent véritablement à assurer au sein de l'espace francophone la diffusion d'une croissance économique inclusive, responsable, partagée, qui profite à tout le monde, autre priorité du G7 pour le Sommet de Charlevoix.

La réalisation de l'Agenda 2030 nécessitera des financements considérables pour les pays en développement. Alors que le recours au secteur privé, aux côtés de l'aide au développement, fait l'objet d'un intérêt grandissant, notamment pour le financement des infrastructures, les pays en développement ont besoin d'outils de pilotage qu'ils maîtrisent pour éviter de conclure des partenariats public-privé déséquilibrés et de sombrer dans la reprise d'un cycle de la dette. Il est donc souhaitable que le G7 appelle les institutions financières internationales à renforcer leur assistance technique aux pays en développement sur ces questions.

S'agissant des emplois de l'avenir, cette question cruciale qui est aussi au programme du G7 préoccupe l'ensemble des pays, avancés ou en développement, car les révolutions technologiques en cours, portées par l'intelligence artificielle, les transactions par blocs de chaîne et les cyber monnaies, vont transformer toute la sphère du monde du travail, donc des millions d'emplois, à très court terme. Si le G7 encourage la recherche et l'innovation parmi ses membres sur ces questions, il a aussi une responsabilité à l'égard des pays en développement, que ces ruptures technologiques risquent d'exclure de ce nouveau paradigme de la mondialisation. L'OIF travaille déjà sur ces questions, qui ont des répercussions économiques majeures mais comportent aussi des impacts sur les plans culturel et politique, sachant aussi que les centres mondiaux, les grandes multinationales qui ont la gouverne de ces innovations sont en majorité ailleurs que dans les pays francophones qui doivent encore rassembler plus vigoureusement leurs forces, leurs réalisations, leurs capacités et leurs expertises en la matière. Le G7 devrait mobiliser les institutions financières internationales pour évaluer l'impact de cette nouvelle révolution numérique dans les pays en développement en termes d'emplois et de modes de production. En outre, la question d'une régulation mondiale de ces activités, actuellement développées par des entreprises multinationales monopolistiques, devrait être à l'ordre du jour du G7 comme des autres enceintes internationales pour les années à venir.

La question des changements climatiques, des océans et de l'énergie propre est un autre sujet majeur de préoccupation. La Francophonie attend du G7 que la dynamique de l'Accord de Paris en 2015 soit maintenue, s'agissant notamment du financement de l'adaptation aux effets dévastateurs du réchauffement climatique dans les pays les plus pauvres. Notre organisation est très impliquée sur ces questions, à travers l'Institut de la Francophonie pour le développement durable basé à Québec, qui accompagne nos états et gouvernements dans les négociations internationales ainsi que pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre leurs plans nationaux de développement durable. Les récentes réunions tenues dans le cadre de la Convention des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques ont montré que le sentiment d'urgence qui a permis la conclusion de l'Accord de Paris tendait déjà à s'affaiblir. La Francophonie compte sur la présidence canadienne du G7, comme sur la France, pour maintenir et renforcer la cohésion internationale sur ce sujet, malgré les positions de la nouvelle administration américaine.

S'agissant des questions de paix et de sécurité, l'espace francophone n'est malheureusement pas épargné, ni par les crises régionales ni par les menaces asymétriques du crime transnational organisé et les attaques terroristes. L'OIF est très mobilisée pour accompagner ses états membres concernés dans leur lutte contre la radicalisation et l'extrémisme violent, une problématique qui comporte des dimensions aussi bien culturelles qu'économiques, au-delà de l'aspect sécuritaire. La Francophonie est aussi un partenaire important des Nations Unies dans la formation des personnels et contingents déployés dans le cadre des opérations de maintien la paix dans les pays francophones. Nous espérons que le G7 saura mobiliser des ressources nouvelles pour faire face à ces défis, et nous saluons l'importance accordée au rôle des femmes dans la prévention et le règlement des conflits.

Je souhaite le plein succès de cet agenda ambitieux lors du Sommet de Charlevoix. La présidence canadienne comme la future présidence française savent qu'elles peuvent compter sur l'engagement, la forte contribution, le dynamisme et la plus value de la Francophonie pour qu'au cœur de la mondialisation cet humanisme intégral et universel qui nous définit puisse triompher.

[retour en haut]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the Global Governance Program based at Trinity College
in the University of Toronto.
   
Please send comments to:
g7@utoronto.ca
g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 29, 2018 .

All contents copyright © 2021. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.