G7 and G20 Research Groups

G7 Information Centre
G20 Information Centre

University of Toronto

A Word from the Premier of Quebec

Philippe Couillard, Premier, Quebec

Special supplement to G7 Canada: The 2018 Charlevoix Summit,
John Kirton and Madeline Koch, eds., GT Media, 2018
Version en français

Philippe Couillard, premier, QuebecNow that Canada is chairing the G7, it is a pleasure for Quebec to welcome the leaders of the member countries and the guests, as well as their delegations, to La Malbaie, at the heart of the Charlevoix region. During the summit, you will have the opportunity to discover the attractions and the breathtaking landscapes of Quebec as well as the vitality and dynamic nature of its economy.

Over the past few years, our economic situation has progressed considerably. We have nearly reached full employment, and our gross domestic product grew by two points between 2015 and 2017. The growth of our hourly wage is at one of the highest levels in Canada, particularly among women. This favourable situation can be attributed, on the one hand, to our priority of maintaining balanced public finances and for controlling the public debt and, on the other, to our ability to stimulate innovation and investment in all our regions. As a result, we have the means to better assist our children in moving towards success, and to train them well so that we may be sure of filling the jobs of the future, with a view to sustainable development.

This climate of trust also enables us to strengthen our position, both within Canada and on the world stage. With a strong network of 29 official delegations abroad, every day we demonstrate that Quebec can face the great challenges of the 21st century and promote its interests at the international level. We played a front-line role in the adoption of the Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement. Our interventions led to the recognition of the role of federated states and regions in the Paris Agreement on climate change. We held an international conference on radicalisation and an international symposium on food security and nutrition in the era of climate change, in collaboration with UNESCO. These are a few examples that show that we in Quebec form a united, prosperous and open nation that is proud of its language and its culture, and is concerned about strengthening its presence and its commitment towards its partners.

I wish you all a most cordial welcome among us, and hope that you will enjoy discovering the rich treasures of Quebec!

[back to top]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the Global Governance Program based at Trinity College
in the University of Toronto.
   
Please send comments to:
g7@utoronto.ca
g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 29, 2018 .

All contents copyright © 2021. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

G7 and G20 Research Groups

G7 Information Centre
G20 Information Centre

University of Toronto

Un mot du premier ministre du Québec

Philippe Couillard, premier ministre du Québec

Supplément spécial au G7 Canada: The 2018 Charlevoix Summit,
John Kirton et Madeline Koch (dir.), GT Media et le Global Governance Project, 2018
English Version

Philippe Couillard, premier ministre de la Province de QuébecAlors que le Canada assume la présidence du G7, c'est un plaisir pour le Québec d'accueillir les dirigeants des pays membres et invités ainsi que leurs délégations à La Malbaie, au cœur de la région de Charlevoix. Durant le sommet, vous aurez la chance de découvrir les attraits et les paysages à couper le souffle qu'offre le Québec ainsi que la vitalité et le dynamisme de son économie.

Au cours des dernières années, notre situation économique a beaucoup évolué. Nous avons presque atteint le plein emploi et le produit intérieur bruit a grimpé de deux points entre 2015 et 2017. La croissance du salaire horaire au Québec est l'une des plus fortes au Canada, en particulier chez les femmes. Cette situation favorable est attribuable, d'une part, à notre souci de maintenir des finances publiques équilibrées et d'assurer un contrôle efficace de la dette et, d'autre part, à notre capacité à stimuler l'innovation et les investissements dans toutes nos régions. Grâce à ce contexte, nous avons les moyens de mieux accompagner nos jeunes vers la réussite et de mieux les former pour nous assurer de combler les emplois de l'avenir dans une perspective de développement durable.

Ce climat de confiance nous permet également de prendre pleinement notre place au Canada et dans le monde. Forts d'un réseau de 29 délégations et représentations à l'étranger, nous démontrons, chaque jour, que le Québec peut relever les grands défis du 21e siècle et promouvoir ses intérêts à l'échelle internationale. Nous avons été un acteur de premier plan dans l'adoption de l'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l'Union européenne. Nos interventions ont permis la reconnaissance du rôle des états fédérés et des régions dans l'Accord de Paris sur le changement climatique. Nous avons tenu une conférence internationale sur la radicalisation et un colloque international sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition à l'heure du changement climatique en collaboration avec l'UNESCO. Ce sont quelques exemples qui démontrent que nous formons, au Québec, une nation unie, prospère et ouverte, fière de sa langue et de sa culture et soucieuse d'accroître sa présence et son engagement auprès de ses partenaires.

Je vous souhaite à toutes et à tous la plus cordiale des bienvenues chez nous et espère que vous prendrez plaisir à découvrir les richesses dont regorge notre Québec!

[retour en haut]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the Global Governance Program based at Trinity College
in the University of Toronto.
   
Please send comments to:
g7@utoronto.ca
g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated June 29, 2018 .

All contents copyright © 2021. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.